top of page

Grief & Bereavement

Love's unwillingness to let go

Coping with the loss of a close friend or family member may be one of the hardest challenges that many of us face. The pain of loss can feel overwhelming, but there are healthy positive ways to cope with your grief which can help the healing process.

Grief & Loss

Grief is a multifaceted response to loss, particularly when the loss is of someone or something that has died and whom we had an emotional bond. Although we conventionally focus on the emotional response to loss, grief also has physical, cognitive, behavioral, social, cultural, spiritual and philosophical dimensions. Bereavement refers to the state of loss, and grief is the emotional reaction we experience to that loss such as anger, sadness, emptiness and despair.

Grief is a natural and normal response to loss. It is the emotional suffering we feel when something or someone we love is taken away. The grief associated with death is familiar to most people as we get older, but individuals grieve in connection with a variety of losses throughout their lives, such as unemployment, ill health or the end of a relationship. Loss can be categorised as either physical or abstract, the physical loss being related to something that the individual can touch or measure, such as losing a spouse through death, while other types of loss are abstract, and relate to aspects of a person’s social interactions such as loosing a friendship. Everyones grief is personal to them, there is no right or wrong, however for some people, they don't feel they can move forward, they get stuck in the emotions and need help.

"No one ever told me that grief felt so like fear"

C S Lewis

Stages of Grief

There are 5 stages of grief that most people experience and it is important we go through these, however our grief is individual and sometimes we take a step forward only to take two backwards during this process. The hardest thing is learning to let go.

  1. Denial - " this can't be happening to me", not accepting the person has gone, carrying on as if they are still here, little or no emotions or crying.

  2. Anger -  "Why me" "How could you leave me", feelings of anger at the person who has died and feeling in fight mode constantly.

  3. Bargaining - Begging, praying and wishing they would come back to you, "it should have been me" if only.... its easy to get lost in this cycle of trying to stop or change the loss we feel.

  4. Depression - As we leave the bargaining stage we can become frustrated, feel lost, empty, numb and feel sorry for ourselves as we realise the changes the loss will have in our lives and future.

  5. Acceptance - Its at this point we realise our lives must go on, this doesn't mean we don't love and miss our loved one, it means we start to accept the loss, we feel more positive, start to create future goals and plans.

At any point through this journey, you may feel you need help to deal with these powerful emotions, Hypnotherapy allows you to let go of the hurt and pain of the loss so you can remember the positives memories.

Cost per session is £60 and lasts around 1 1/2 to 2 hours

Helping clients in Bungay, Beccles & across Suffolk & Norfolk.

For more information or to book an appointment

Call: 07729880115

bottom of page